Chili meets Dirty Rice

IMG_3391 IMG_3392 IMG_3393IMG_3394 ≈ IMG_3095

I love this recipe – it is based on a dish that my Mom made when I was growing up. Her dish was called “Texas Hash” and I still make that version sometimes. So here is Chili meets Dirty Rice.

Sautee chopped onions and bell peppers in olive oil in a good sized pot. Add salt to taste. After those veggies look translucent, add 2 cans of drained cooked beans. I frequently use black beans and kidney beans. Add 2 cans of undrained diced tomatoes, about a cup and a half of rice (brown, white, quinoa, whatever…), and about 2 tablespoons of taco seasoning. I mix my own taco seasoning from Penzey’s spices that I have in the cupboard.  Add about 2 cups of water and bring to a boil. Then cover and reduce heat to low and simmer until the rice absorbs the water, about 30 minutes. And that’s it! Super simple. It’s ready when it’s cool enough to eat. Top with shredded cheese, sour cream, and/or any of your favorite chili toppings!

2 Comments on “Chili meets Dirty Rice”

  1. I love dishes like this that are easy to make, full of color and looks delicious! I will have to give it a try.


Leave a Reply

